Bihar Electricity Board

May 20, 2013 |

Powered by WP Bannerize

Bihar Electricity Board

Bihar State Power Holding Company Limited (or BSPHCL),also known as erstwhile Bihar State Electricity Board (or BSEB) is a state-owned electricity regulation board operating within the state of Bihar in India.Bihar State Electricity Board (BSEB) was established in 1958 as a statutory corporation under the Electricity (Supply) Act, 1948.As of November 2012,BSEB has nearly 1,700 officers and 14,850 employees. Its installed generation capacity is 559.2MW. The derated capacity comes to just 530 MW. The BSEB was unbundeled on August 2, 2011,. Power Finance Corporation was the main consultant for BSEB’s restructuring.

Bihar State Electricity Reforms Transfer Scheme 2012

BSEB has been unbundled into five companies:

Bihar State Power Holding Company Limited (the holding company)
Bihar State Power Transmission Company
Bihar State Power Generation Company
South Bihar Power Distribution Company
North Bihar Power Distribution Company.

Bihar State Power Company Limited will own the shares of the newly-incorporated four other companies.The privatization process for energy distribution network began in four towns of the state, including Patna and Muzaffarpur in January 2013.

Thermal Power Plants in Bihar

Barauni Thermal Power Station

BTPS is located in Barauni.The renovation and maintenance (R&M) work at Bihar’s lone Barauni Thermal power station (BTPS)was to be completed by 2013 end.In July 2012,BSEB awarded a 30 months contract to Mcnally Bharat Engineering Company for manufacturing, supply, erection, inland transportation and insurance of equipment, materials and mandatory spares for Ganga Water Supply Package for Barauni Thermal Power Station.The contract will be executed in thermal power station’s “Phase – 1 (2 X 110 MW) and phase II ( 2 X 250 MW) at a price of Rs 115.5 crore.In March 2013,Centre assured to provide coal linkage to Barauni thermal power Plant.

Muzaffarpur Thermal Power Station

Powered by WP Bannerize

MTPS is located in Muzaffarpur.It is now a joint venture of BSEB and NTPC since 2006.According to a December 2002 document of the Union power ministry,BTPS and MTPS were among the worst-performing power plants in India.

NTPC Kahalgaon Super Thermal Power Station

This NTPC plant is located in Kahalgaon,Bhagalpur,Bihar.

NTPC Barh super thermal Power Plant

Around 3,300MW of coal-generated power is being added at Barh near Patna in Bihar, India. The three-unit 1,980MW Barh I are being built by Russian firm Technopromoexport (TPE), and the other two-unit 1,320MW Barh II extension are being built by BHEL. Barh has been named a mega power project, and is owned by Indian energy company NTPC (National Thermal Power Corporation).The first unit(660 MW) of NTPC Barh is expected to start by June 2013.

Hydel Power Stations in Bihar

Koshi Hydel Power Station

Koshi Hydel Power Station has been handed over to Bihar State Hydel Power Corporation on 16/11/2003.
Power grids in Patna

Fatuha (150MVA)
Khagaul (150MVA)
Mithapur (100MVA)
Gaighat (100MVA)
Katra (100MVA)
Jakkanpur (170MVA)

There are 45 power sub-stations. The six grids supply around 415MW of power to the state capital. Digha grid sub-station (132/33 KVA) will start soon according to Patna Electric Supply Undertaking (PESU).

Powered by WP Bannerize

Posted in: Bihar Information | Tags:

Comments are closed.